Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

• RE: Split Year

WarningThis post is currently being moderated and will be visible when it has been approved by a HMRC moderator.
  • Tax Code

I am currently a non tax resident but I will return to take up employment in the UK from 1 November 2024. My annual salary from new UK job will be 120k but since I will be joining the company on 1 November only 50k of my annual salary will fall in tax year 24/25 which means I should receive full Personal Allowance of 12.75k. However if my UK employer uses my current tax code it will be based on my annual salary giving me reduced PA? Should I ask HMRC to issue a different tax code for the 5 months of this tax year and then revert to normal tax code from 6 April 25?
  • Tax on UK income

I left UK to work in the Middle East in March 2022. I sent form P85 to HMRC when I left the UK to work abroad. For the tax years 22/23 and 23/24 I was non tax resident as I spent less than 90 days visiting my Family in the UK. For the current tax year 24/25 I am still working in Middle East but my employment here will end in October 24. I will return to UK for 2 weeks and then my new UK based employer has asked me to work for the next 6 months (Nov 24 to April 25) in India training staff etc. So despite change of employers I will be non tax resident in UK in 24/25. My questions are: 1. Can my UK employer pay my first 6 months salary as gross? 2. What do I need to do to obtain the NT tax code given that I have already submitted P85 to HMRC 2 years ago? 3. If I need to submit another P85 form what should be my date of leaving - March 2022 (original overseas employment) or November 2024 (new employment).
  • Split Year

I have always been UK tax Resident up until 21/22. I always had a family and a home in UK.
    For the tax years 22/23 and 23/24 I have been non Tax Resident since I am now working in the Middle East.