Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

• RE: Non Dom - selling old property

Hello HMRC Team, Can you please review this thread and provide your guidance? Thanks
  • Non Dom - selling old property

Hi, I am a tax resident since April 2022 and have filed my returns as a non domiciled tax payer.under the remittance basis. I own a property in a foreign country since 2016, before I became a tax resident. If I sell the property and remit the proceeds from abroad, will the remittance be liable to tax? How will this remittance be treated? What kind of documents do I need to maintain for this?
  • Transfer of foreign assets - Non Dom tax status

I became a tax resident of UK in April 2022 and have filed as a non dom for the year 2022-2023. I will be filing as a non domiciled tax payer. I intend to transfer some funds from my foreign account to my UK account to buy a house. I understand that assets owned by me prior to April 2022 (when I moved to the UK) can be transferred to the UK without any tax implications. However my situation is a bit unique. I had fixed deposits in my foreign account which I opened in June 2019 (prior to moving to UK). These FDs matured in June 2022 ( after becoming a tax resident in the UK), I used the same principle to open a new FD account in June 2022 which will mature now in Feb 2024. Will I have any tax liability as a non domiciled tax payer if I transfer only the original principle from 2019? I will not be transferring any of the interest earned since 2019 but only the principle amount that I had in 2019. If I am allowed to transfer the principle only, what documents do I need to maintain? Will bank account statements from 2019 be good enough? Thanks
  • RE: Transfer of funds from foreign account