Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Wed, 29 May 2024 23:09:21 GMT by RJ73
I have an opportunity to provide Advice to the Board of a US startup company in return for either shares or share options, which would vest monthly over a 2 year period. I am a UK tax resident and would be providing the advisory services remotely from my office in the UK. The advisory services would be incremental to my primary means of employment here in the UK. I am not currently set up as a limited company or freelancer so can be flexible on the most suitable approach. The startup is in very early stages, but there are planned investment milestones over the 2 year vesting period that could potentially increase the value of the shares, though it is unlikely there would be an opportunity to trade them within that 2 year period. If I go for Restricted Shares to myself as an individual I am concerned that I may incur tax at the point shares vest - and therefore incur an unaffordable cashflow issue as I wouldn't get any cash value from them until they are sold? Is my assumption correct? However, I am considering setting up a Personal Service Company (with the primary reason of helping limit my personal legal liability of dealing with a US company). In which case the Advisor agreement would be made in the name of my Personal Service Company. In this case am I then correct in assuming that tax would not be due until the shares are exercised? Or would they still be deemed as being to myself as an individual as they are for my advisory services under my own personal service company?

[External link removed - Admin]
Posted Tue, 04 Jun 2024 09:04:44 GMT by HMRC Admin 10 Response
Hi
Income tax is payable on the shares when they vest.  The company may deduct the tax by withholding shares to cover the tax.  You may have to claim a foreign tax credit in your self assessment tax return,  for tax paid in the USA.