Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Sat, 19 Aug 2023 14:09:26 GMT by
Good Afternoon, I am a sole trader and purchased van and other equipment to be used in my business from my personal bank account before my business bank account has been opened. In order to record these costs in my accounting software, I will need to record these as out-of-pocket expenses. However, I do not require them to be reimbursed back to me. Will there be any issue with them staying forever outstanding? Or should I reimburse them back to me after few years once my business generates enough cash to cover the initial costs instead of taking money out of the business as Drawings in the future? Is there any rule that expenses owed to the owner have to always be reimbursed (if yes, is there a timeline/deadline) or is it acceptable to keep them outstanding in the system for years/forever? Thank you very much in advance for your reply!
Posted Thu, 24 Aug 2023 05:25:42 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi Zu Ko,
Pre-trading expenses are expenses that you incur before you start your business.
You can claim them as tax-deductible if they meet the following conditions:
The expenses were incurred within seven years of you starting to trade.
The expenses would have been tax-deductible if you had incurred them while you were trading
You treat them as if they were incurred on your first day of trading.
You have receipts and paperwork to support the claim.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Further guidance is here:
Expenses if you're self-employed
Thank you. 
Posted Thu, 24 Aug 2023 18:40:07 GMT by