Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Tue, 24 Oct 2023 11:21:14 GMT by njc23
Hello there, I am a permanent resident to the UK, however I will be away for a year. Will I be able to take advantage of a personal tax relief on my rental income the same way UK citizens enjoy? Thank you
Posted Thu, 26 Oct 2023 16:03:48 GMT by HMRC Admin 10 Response
Hi
Thank you for your question. 
You can claim the Property Income Allowance if your property expenses are less than £1000.
 If they exceed £1000, then you can claim for your expenses.  
You cannot claim both.  
More information can be found in the Property Income Manual at PIM1900 onwards.   
Posted Thu, 26 Oct 2023 20:47:09 GMT by njc23
Dear HMRC I was referring to personal income tax relief, which is @ £12,570 at the moment . Would you kindly let me know if both myself and my wife being a permanent residence are able to claim this ? Thank you
Posted Tue, 31 Oct 2023 09:20:08 GMT by HMRC Admin 17 Response

Hi, 

Thank you for your question.

As per the numerous previous responses given surrounding this query, whether the tax free allowance may be used against your income would depend on your right to personal allowances, as well as the overseas country you are resided in.

Attached is the Double Taxation Digest which if you search for the country you are based in, clearly states if personal allowances are applied or not in column 9: https:

Digest of Double Taxation Treaties .

Based on your previous questions, if in previous years you have had the personal allowance for that particular year, then potentially as long as your situation has not changed, then normal rules would apply.

I have also attached some guidance on residence, domicile and the remittance basis.

Please refer to the section “Resident abroad with income from a UK source” which may answer your question in simpler terms.