Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Fri, 27 Oct 2023 20:21:17 GMT by Rachel
In the tax year 2022/2023 I worked fully remotely for a US organization that employed me in the UK and paid my income (and associated income tax and NI) through an umbrella company via PAYE. However, I spent only 142 days in the UK during that tax year as I worked from various other countries (I was not in any country for longer than 183 days) and have no home ties in the UK (no rent paid and did not live in one place in the UK for longer than a couple of weeks in total). However, my name was still on a mortgage while my ex-partner bought me out of that property, but I did not step foot in the property during that tax year though and did not make any income from it as he lived in it. I have now left the UK permanently and I am a resident of Canada. I will fill in the form to state I have left the UK now, however is it possible for me to claim income tax back for the tax year 2022/2023 given that I was not residing in the country? Or what is the process I need to go through in general given my situation? Thank you for your help!
Posted Wed, 01 Nov 2023 10:29:46 GMT by HMRC Admin 20
Hi Rachel,
You would need to complete a tax return for 22/23 and include the SA109 residence section to claim any refund.
Thank you.

Posted Fri, 03 Nov 2023 21:22:26 GMT by Rachel
Thank you. I have just checked online and it says I needed to register by October 5 to send a tax return. I did not know I needed to do this. Is it still possible for me to do this now? I will do it today.
Posted Fri, 03 Nov 2023 21:57:31 GMT by Rachel