Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Wed, 27 Dec 2023 00:31:08 GMT by
I am a uk tax resident starting from May 2022 (date of arrival to UK). After I arrived the UK, the employer continued to paid as salaries for my accumulated annual holiday until 6 Nov 2022. Before I arrived the UK, I have proceeded tax clearance in Hong Kong and settled. (Included all my countable salaries/incomes from May 2022 to Nov 2022 in taxable year 2022/2023.) As there is a double treaty agreement between the UK and Hong Kong, is that mean I would not require to report this oversea incomes in the tax return?
Posted Mon, 08 Jan 2024 13:46:17 GMT by HMRC Admin 19 Response
Hi,

As the income relates to work carried out in Hong Kong, you do not declare it here under the terms of the double taxation treaty.

Thank you.
Posted Tue, 23 Jan 2024 03:08:57 GMT by
Refer to the reply “you do not declare it here under the terms of the double taxation treaty.” 1. Is that mean I would not require to report it as an foreign / oversea incomes in the tax return? 2. Is there any penalty if I fill the tax return incorrectly by misunderstanding? Moreover, I have not apply split year treatment when fill the form SA1, can I still apply the treatment thru’ fill the form SA109?
Posted Thu, 25 Jan 2024 16:10:51 GMT by HMRC Admin 5 Response
Hi LK KONG

You do not declare this income in the foreign secttion or the employment section of a self assessment tax return, as it is not taxable in the UK.  
In the interests of full disclosure, you can, if you want, mention the non taxable income in the freehand notes box on page TR7 box 17.  
There is no penalty where you have completed the tax return incorrectly, in error.  You may end up paying to much tax or incurring penalties and interest.  
Deliberately entering incorrect figures or omitting them can have serious consequences.

Thank you
Posted Sun, 15 Sep 2024 22:02:47 GMT by bluktax