Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Tue, 21 Nov 2023 09:39:16 GMT by Elliot Howard-Spink
Hello! I recently started a job in Germany (November 2023), but will be performing this job remotely from the UK. I am a UK resident, and spend around 70% of my time in the UK, making me (as far as I can see) responsible for paying UK tax on my income. This is my only source of income. I am trying to organize how best to avoid double taxation as per the UK-Germany double taxation agreement. I have tried applying for a certificate of residence in the UK to provide to German authorities, however all I receive back in the post is a letter of confirmation of residence (and on this letter, it specifically states that it is NOT a certificate of residence, and cannot be used to claim relief under double taxation). I have seen other posts which suggest that the best option is just to pay taxes in Germany, and then apply for foreign tax credits when submitting a tax return. I would be happy to do this, although the taxes I would pay are slightly higher. Also, I have seen that in some cases, double-taxation agreements specify that you must organize to pay taxes directly to the correct country, and this can invalidate claims foreign tax credits... Additionally, as I will now need to do a tax return for all of this, when do I need to register by? It seems I've missed the October deadline, but I only started this Job in November so was not aware! I've read through nearly everything I can find on the HMRC website, so any clear advice would be helpful! I'm trying to organize this all preemptively as I can't really afford to take the brunt of paying double tax, even if for a short while... Thank you!
Posted Wed, 22 Nov 2023 16:54:58 GMT by HMRC Admin 20
Hi Elliot Howard-Spink,