Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Wed, 29 May 2024 21:09:10 GMT by Michael Jordan
Hello, I'm a US citizen in the UK on a student visa. I have not been employed in my time here. Because I have not been employed, I have not received a National Insurance number. My understanding is that I cannot apply for a National Insurance number because I am not working and do not intend to work. I have two questions about this: 1. Do I need to file a tax return? 2. I have a brokerage account at an international brokerage. My brokerage would like me to add my UK tax residency to my account information (my understanding, possibly incorrect, is that because I am residing in the UK, I am a UK tax resident and so should add it). However, to do that, I need to provide my UK tax number. However, as mentioned, I do not have a National Insurance number and as far as I know it is not possible to get one. Is it possible to get some other tax number? Thanks! - Mike
Posted Tue, 04 Jun 2024 09:02:17 GMT by HMRC Admin 10 Response
Hi
If you are UK tax resident for the whole tax year, then you are required to declare your world-wide income.  If you have income from outside the UK, then this needs to be declared on a tax return.  If you have no income arising from anywhere in the world, then a tax return is not required.  A self assessment record can be created without the need of a national insurance number.
Posted Sun, 09 Jun 2024 20:23:21 GMT by Michael Jordan