Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Sun, 28 Jan 2024 14:38:33 GMT by
Hi First post and apologies if it has been covered before. My question relates to the treatment of a UK local government pension lump sum payment by the Spanish authorities. I am a Spanish tax resident and work part time, which I intend to continue doing. I plan to take my UK local government pension early, in September, and understand this can only be taxed in the UK, with only my personal allowances affected in Spain due to the double taxation agreement.  Is the associated lump sum payment treated the same way, i.e taxed in the UK,  or is it classed as simple unearned income that will be fully taxed in Spain. Thank you
Posted Wed, 31 Jan 2024 11:06:59 GMT by HMRC Admin 19
Hi,

Any amount over the tax free amount will be taxed in the same way.

Thank you.
Posted Sat, 18 May 2024 06:40:17 GMT by Beiderbeck Dunleath
My first post, linked to the previous post. Tax resident in Spain since 2004, my bad experience with the DTT 2013 was eventually resolved by HMRC intervention with Hacienda, following which around 3000euros has so far been refunded, as I had been taxed on the LGPS . However, it seems there is still a form of double taxation (as I see it) via box 470 of the tax return. The info from the P60 is inserted for addition to any income taxable in Spain, for the purpose of calculating the %tax rate on income only taxable in Spain. (In my case the DWP pension) this total tips my rate of tax from 19% to 24% on the DWP pension. My understanding is that Spain can do this under their own rules. It does seem a bit harsh to increase that tax rate on just a UK state pension by this means, using income covered by the DTT 2013.
Posted Thu, 23 May 2024 08:51:49 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi Beiderbeck Dunleath,
HMRC cannot comment on the tax laws of another country.
Thank you. 

Posted Thu, 23 May 2024 17:06:35 GMT by Gary C