Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Tue, 31 Oct 2023 05:21:59 GMT by John Smith
Hello HMRC Admin, I have a question related to the UK tax treatment of a Canadian Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP). In this scenario I am a UK Resident for income tax purposes, domiciled in Canada but a Canadian Non-Resident. I will be taxed on the Arising Basis. My question is: Do the capital gains, dividends, etc. that are generated inside a Canadian RRSP need to be reported as foreign income in a self-assessment? In Canada the income generated is not subject to taxation so no income tax return is filed with the Canada Revenue Agency. As an extension to the question: How would income generated in a Tax Free Savings Account (TFSA) or First Home Savings Account (FHSA) be treated? Are these types of accounts viewed as non-registered accounts where capital gains and dividends are reported as foreign income?
Posted Wed, 01 Nov 2023 16:47:10 GMT by HMRC Admin 20
Hi John Smith,
The guidance at DT4617, advises that
'Where a UK resident makes a lump sum withdrawal from an Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP) or an Registered Retirement Income Funds (RRIF), Canada imposes a 25 per cent withholding tax'.
No tax credit relief is allowable, which means that the full lumpsum is taxable in both Canada and the UK.  
You can, however, claim a foreign tax credit relief of up to 100% of the foreign tax deducted, against your Uk tax liability. 
Thank you.
Posted Thu, 02 Nov 2023 00:37:30 GMT by John Smith