Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Fri, 28 Jul 2023 11:16:53 GMT by
I am a British citizen who moved to Portugal permanently last year. I am a resident in Portugal, employed by a Portuguese company, paid salary in Portugal to my EU bank account. I pay income tax and social security contributions in Portugal. I rent a flat and live in Portugal. I am not employed by any UK entity and have no UK-originating income. I would like to confirm my understanding of UK/Portugal DTC, Article 15, Employments (... salaries, wages and other similar remuneration ... derived by a resident of a Contracting State in respect of an employment shall be taxable only in that State unless the employment is exercised in the other Contracting State). If, according to the UK SRT, I also become a tax resident in the UK, but spend less than 183 days in the fiscal year concerned: 1. Will the UK also tax my salary derived from my employment in Portugal? 2. Will the UK also tax my salary, if, while physically present in the UK, I work via internet for the Portuguese employer? 3. Would I need to report my worldwide income, including that from Portugal to HMRC? 4. Indeed, would I need to send tax returns to HMRC? My presence in the UK would not be related to my employment in Portugal, and I would not conduct any business-related activities requiring my physical presence in the UK, e.g. no business meetings, no site visits, no time spent at any office in the UK. Many thanks in advance.
Posted Fri, 04 Aug 2023 06:18:12 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi PF,
If spending less than 183 days in the UK you would not be considered UK tax resident and you would only declare your income in Portugal.
If you stay more than the 183 days and are classed UK resident, you would be liable on your worldwide income.
Credit would be given for any tax paid in Portugal to reduce your UK liability.
Thank you. 
Posted Sat, 19 Aug 2023 15:01:36 GMT by