Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Tue, 12 Sep 2023 16:17:25 GMT by
I am a non-Uk tax resident living in Cyprus. I have NRL and each year I complete a SA return as I have a small UK rental income which is less than the personal allowance. This tax year I have taken the full value of my UK pension as a lump sum and UK tax has been deducted from the payment by the provider. Cyprus has a DTA with the UK and I understand the payment is taxable in Cyprus under article 17. Should I use R43 to reclaim the tax ? I would prefer not to wait to complete my SA for a refund as it is many months away. Thank you.
Posted Tue, 19 Sep 2023 14:18:11 GMT by HMRC Admin 17

Hi,

Please note that you can claim a refund of the tax deducted from your UK pension by completing form DT-Individual.                                 

See Link: 

Double Taxation Treaty Relief  .

Thank you .
Posted Sun, 24 Sep 2023 08:16:08 GMT by
Once I complete and return DT-Individual to HMRC what happens? Who refunds the UK tax deducted from my lump sum pension?
Posted Tue, 03 Oct 2023 08:54:47 GMT by HMRC Admin 32
Hi,

On receipt of form DT Individual, any refund due will be issued by HMRC by cheque to your home address or if you have nominated someone in the UK to receive this, to your nominee’s address.

Thank you.
Posted Fri, 10 May 2024 13:06:03 GMT by TS_500