Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Fri, 08 May 2020 11:13:26 GMT by
I live and work in the UK and I am a tax resident here but my country of citizenship requires the HMRC Certificate of residence in order not to tax me on my UK income. According to HMRC guidance, you can only apply for a Certificate of residence if you receive income from both the UK and another country, but all my income is from the UK. HMRC's logic (as far as I understand) is that you don't need this certificate if you have no foreign income becuse the certificate is intended to claim tax relief on foreign income. However, I need the certificate in order to claim tax relief on UK income in my country of citizenship in accordance with article 4 of the DTA. They've asked me for CoR specifically, and won't accept the Letter of confirmation of residence, because that explicitly states that it's not for DTA purposes. Any ideas how I can proceed?
Posted Mon, 11 May 2020 09:30:00 GMT by HMRC Admin 3

Hi,
You can still apply for the certificate of residence.
We will not provide it if there is no foreign income, but we can provide a letter of confirmation to show you are UK tax resident instead.
The certificate of residence request form will generate this for you.
If you enter the reason for the request, we can look to send this instead.
How to apply for a certificate of residence to claim tax relief abroad

Posted Mon, 11 May 2020 09:50:04 GMT by
Thank you for your reply but as I said in my original question, the tax body in Slovenia that I need to submit this to won't accept the letter of confirmation and asks explicitly for a certificate of residence and that article 4 be mentioned. The route you suggested won't issue me with a document that they are willing to accept.
Posted Mon, 11 May 2020 14:12:00 GMT by HMRC Admin 3
Hi, 
HMRC has agreements with multiple countries across the world and the advice given in our first response is correct.