Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Mon, 10 Jun 2024 08:37:56 GMT by TG156
Hi, I'd really value some advice on how to deal with the following situation. I'm new to self-assessment, having always previously paid tax through PAYE. I signed up with a UK accountancy firm last year because I moved overseas and needed someone back in the UK to file tax returns for myself and my wife. I sent them my FY22-23 tax return info last August and received an acknowledgement. I heard nothing more after that, so in April of this year I contacted them to ask for any news (and perhaps an invoice for their services). They eventually replied to say that they'd filed a "dummy return" for me in January, and that they would pay any fines for late filing. Since then, it seems like they've been trying to avoid me. They don't reply to emails, and when I've phoned, they've said that they would get back to me but haven't. The company in question is part of a well-known franchise that generally gets excellent reviews. I've tried contacting the franchise owner after they responded to a TrustPilot review, but even they seem to be ignoring me. Obviously, my main concern is to understand what my position is with regards to any fines, and also at what point it becomes a serious problem. Am I worrying about this too soon? I've done everything I reasonably can from my end, but when the accountancy firm is giving me absolutely no information at all about their timescales, I have no idea where I stand. (Should I be signing up with another firm a.s.a.p. to get them to file my FY22-23 return, and if so, will I then be liable for any fines?) Thanks in advance for any advice!
Posted Thu, 13 Jun 2024 12:37:44 GMT by HMRC Admin 20
Hi,
Ultimately, the responsibility for ensuring your returns are filed on time is yours.