Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Tue, 12 Dec 2023 16:16:33 GMT by
For the first month of tax year 2022-2023 I received income (£3825.27) through an umbrella company who deducted tax (£471.80) based on my tax code (1296L) which was the same tax code as for the previous year. This tax code allowed for professional subscriptions which totalled £123.00. The following 11 months I was a sole trader. Should I declare my expenses for subscriptions on the self employed section of the tax return or will this be accounted for on the employed section? Thank you for any advice.
Posted Tue, 19 Dec 2023 09:32:09 GMT by HMRC Admin 5 Response
Hi

The professional subscriptions relate to your employment, so the figures should be shown on the employment section along with your pay and tax.  
If in future years you are self employed and pay professional subscription, then you can include them in the self employment section.

Thank you
Posted Tue, 19 Dec 2023 10:22:31 GMT by
Thank you for the reply. My question was asking which section do my professional subscriptions need to be declared as I was both employed PAYE and a sole trader in the tax year 2022/2023 (employed then self employed not both at the same time). My PAYE tax code was increased to allow for £123 of subscriptions but my employed income was under £4000. I then became self employed for the remainder of that tax year. Thank you
Posted Fri, 22 Dec 2023 13:59:45 GMT by HMRC Admin 5 Response
Hi RVN1

The subscriptions would be claimed under the employment section.

Thank you
Posted Sat, 06 Jan 2024 17:31:03 GMT by