Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Fri, 13 Oct 2023 10:34:54 GMT by Appae
Hello, 39£ I received some dividends for the year 22/23, totalling £2450, which was a mixture of UK dividends and foreign dividends. I already paid some tax in some of those dividends, which are coming from countries with a double taxation agreement. According to the UK dividend taxation, I should pay: £2450-2000(personal dividend allowance 22/23) * 0.0875(dividend rate for basic tax payers)=£39.37. Note I am a UK resident. As I already paid a tax amount of £170 (£2450 is the net amount after taxes), I guess the tax paid in the UK can be claimed back as there is a double taxation agreement and I already paid more tax in those dividends. I did not fill a self assesment as dividend amount received is less than £10000 year and I am not self employed. I called HRMC and reported the dividend income, and they suggested to fill a form (SA106?). My questions are: -Is SA106 the right form to be filled with tax already paid? -Where does the form needs to be sent to? -Do I need to fill any other forms? -I noticed I paid extra taxes in dividends last year (21/22). I wobdner if there is a way of claiming that back, as I paid tax on foreign dividends as well. - If the rate taken is above the double taxation agreement, how can I get a tax UK resident certificate to claim that to the HRMC of the respective country? Regards,
Posted Tue, 17 Oct 2023 14:31:41 GMT by HMRC Admin 17

Hi,

As you are in receipt of overseas dividends, you meet the criteria for submitting a self assessment tax return. 

You will need to declare the overseas dividend in SA106 and claim a foreign tax credit for the overseas tax paid,
so that you are not taxed twice on the same investment income. 

The supplementary page SA106 and should be submitted with the SA100 self assessment tax return, along with any other