Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Mon, 28 Aug 2023 08:49:51 GMT by
Dear HMRC, I hold a USA passport, but have been granted permission to stay in the UK under the Graduate Visa until 12 Sep 2023. For tax year 2021-22, I was a UK resident and self-employed. I successfully filed my first self-assessment accordingly. Very straightforward. For tax year 2022-23, I earned income strictly overseas and earned for 0 hours, 0 days in the UK. I kept an apartment in the UK for the first 118 days, of which I physically spent 90 days in. During the other 28 days of this time period, I was in the USA: freelancing for two US companies for 16 days (3+ hours per day). I was not working for the rest of this trip. I moved out of the UK to a new apartment in France on 2 Aug 2022, when I received a 6-month fixed-term, full-time work contract. This work contract started on 1 Sep 2022 and has been renewed twice now with no gaps in employment. I qualified as a French tax resident due to my work and residence status here, so I've already had to file taxes for the 2022 French tax year (Jan - Dec 2022). Since moving to France, I have visited the UK for short trips for 10 days (4 days in October 2022, 3 days in January 2023, 3 days in March 2023). I wasn't sure when I first left the UK whether the move would be permanent or not, but considering the expiration of my Graduate visa in Sep 2023 as well as my expectation to be permanently hired here in Jan 2024, I do not anticipate returning to the UK for the tax year 2023-24. From what I can understand, I qualify for split year treatment (Case 3) and am to file a Self-Assessment online as I did the previous year to report my income in the US during the month of May 2022, but also SA109 2023, to report the change in my residency status from 2 Aug 2022. Given the above circumstance, my questions on the SA109 2023 form for you are as follows: 1. Resident Status, Question 8: Do I need to list