Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Tue, 28 May 2024 12:29:29 GMT by ferdischwarz7
I am a musician whose income derives principally from royalties due to my recording/composition catalogue. These come from worldwide sources. In the years to 31 March 2024 my income has been taxed on the cash basis as my turnover has been under the £300,000.00 limit. However in the year ended 31 March 2024 my turnover on the cash basis was £160,000.00. In addition, I have just received a royalties notification that I am owed (at today’s date) royalties up to 31 March 2024 of £380,000. This, if added to the £160,000.00 turnover, will put me over the threshold to be eligible to be on the cash basis. I further note that from 1 April 2024 the cash basis limit has been removed for the 2024/2025 onwards. However in my case it appears I am in the last year where I have to change from cash basis to accruals basis.
 My question is that under BIM 70071 the following seems to apply: