Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Wed, 03 Jul 2024 09:01:09 GMT by MaryVert
Hello. I was made redundant when the company I worked for went into liquidation in May 2023. I was eventually paid a sum for redundancy from the redundancy service which is below the taxation level. I also was paid PILON, holiday pay and unpaid wages for the period during the liquidation. I was taxed at 20% on this payment as understood. I have been working freelance since July 2023 and submitted a tax return last month (May 2024) for the period to April 2024. I didn't realise I had to put the PILON etc payment onto my tax return, although it does appear in my PAYE record on my tax account. Should I amend my SA tax return? If so, where do I put it on the tax return? In my PAYE record it notes it states I am in credit by £1,700, so I requested this be repaid. Does this happen automatically? Or do I need to revise my tax return to include the payment from the redundancy service? My partner also worked for the same company and will need to complete his return shortly. Does he put the PILON etc down as a second employer? Thanks
Posted Fri, 05 Jul 2024 13:05:39 GMT by HMRC Admin 13 Response
Hi, 
Yes you need to amend the return as the PILON needs to be included. 
See SA101_Notes_2024.pdf on how to declare this. 
With regards to the redundancy payment. The letter you received with the payment will confirm whether this is taxable or not. 
If it is, you need to show it as an employment
Thank you.
Posted Sun, 07 Jul 2024 14:28:34 GMT by MaryVert
Thank you, I will have to now find out how to revise my tax return for 2023-24.
Posted Sun, 07 Jul 2024 15:02:38 GMT by MaryVert
Hello, I cannot find where I can put this payment on my tax return! I have read the SA101_Notes_2024.pdf – but it doesn't explain how I can amend my currently submitted return.
Posted Mon, 08 Jul 2024 12:30:05 GMT by MaryVert