Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Fri, 30 Aug 2024 06:58:32 GMT by pikeface999
I live on the Isle of Man in my own home for more than 183 days a year for the last 8 years. I am a IOM resident and I pay IOM tax, and rates etc. I have recently bought a motor home which I intend to use in the uk. I have 3 adult adult children over 18 living in the UK I am trying to establish my UK ties and hence how many days I can spend on UK soil before being classed as a uk resident and therefore HMRC would class me as UK tax resident Under the Sufficient ties test I believe my motorhome would become a tie if used for more than 16 days ? If I then stayed at my 3 children’s houses for more than 16 days would this be an addition tie for each Childs house I stayed at ie another 3 ties ?
Posted Wed, 11 Sep 2024 08:31:37 GMT by HMRC Admin 21 Response
Hi pikeface999,
There are only 5 ties in total, so you can only have a maximum of 5 ties.
There is a family tie, an accommodation tie, a work tie, a 90 day tie and a country tie. Once you meet the family tie with one child, you do not need to consider the other children, as you have already met the tie.
The accommodation tie guidance at RDRM11550 advises that you will have an accommodation tie if you spend 1 night in your motorhome, as it is available to you for a continuous period of 91 days or more.  (RDRM11550 - Residence: The SRT: Accommodation tie).  
A home can be a building, or part of a building, a vehicle, vessel or structure of any kind which is used as a home by an individual. It will be somewhere which an individual uses with a sufficient degree of permanence or stability to count as a home.
The tables at RDR show the numbers of nights you can remain in the UK and be not tax resident, based on the number of ties you meet.
Thank you.
Posted Wed, 11 Sep 2024 15:37:01 GMT by pikeface999