Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Mon, 11 Dec 2023 09:42:57 GMT by Paola15
Hello, I am a UK resident and tax payer.
I hold shares of an American company, for which I receive dividends (>£2000 in a tax year). These dividends are paid as cash into my brokerage account, based in the US and in USD. I have never transferred this money into my UK bank account, neither re-invested them (for example for purchasing more shares). So far I have declared these dividends when filling the Self Assessment as foreign income, in the section specific for Income from overseas sources (Dividends from foreign companies). Before getting into my brokerage account, a US Federal tax of 15% is withheld. I have the following questions: Question 1. Do dividends that are neither invested nor transferred to a UK account count as income? Am I supposed to declare them in the Self Assessment and pay income tax on them? If I decide to reinvest them directly from the brokerage account, are they still considered as income and taxed at the income tax rates? Question 2.
 Assuming the answer to question 1 is that foreign dividends, in my circumstances as described above, are taxed as income. In all my self assessments, the foreign dividends I’ve declared have been taxed at the higher rate (32.5%). I just found out about the tax relief claim thanks to the Double Taxation Treaties between the UK and the US. Is it correct I can claim Foreign Tax Credit Relief on income from foreign dividends? If so, can I claim a refund of what I paid extra for the past years? Question 3. Am I correct that I can claim 15% of the US tax I paid and therefore I should just enter 15% in the appropriate field when filling the Self Assessment?
Posted Fri, 15 Dec 2023 13:24:53 GMT by HMRC Admin 20
Hi Paola15,
As a UK resident, you are taxable on your world-wide income, whether or not it is remitted to the UK.