Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Tue, 31 Oct 2023 06:02:21 GMT by
Hi, I am a non-UK resident with only interest income in UK. I have >£5000 savings interest from the UK bank savings account in the tax year 2022/2023. SAIM1170 advises if I am not resident in the UK, then UK bank interest is considered 'disregarded income' and my income tax liability is limited to the lower of "sum of tax deducted from, or treated as deducted from, or tax credits on ‘disregarded income’, and the tax liability leaving out the disregarded income and with no personal allowances or double taxation relief taken into account". "sum of tax deducted from, or treated as deducted from, or tax credits on ‘disregarded income' " is £0 as banks have been paying interest gross, without income tax deducted. "tax liability leaving out the disregarded income and with no personal allowances or double taxation relief taken into account" is also £0 as I only have interest income in UK. Either calculations suggest that I have no tax liability in the tax year, is my interpretation correct? If yes, do I need to file the tax return/ self-assessment to report my case?
Posted Wed, 01 Nov 2023 16:44:33 GMT by HMRC Admin 20 Response
Hi constancew,
Please refer to Tax on your UK income if you live abroad
Thank you.
Posted Thu, 02 Nov 2023 06:23:29 GMT by