Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Tue, 27 Feb 2024 17:23:04 GMT by uktaxqueries
Hello, I have been an international student for the most part of 2023-24 FY and I am also unemployed. I have no UK income during the year (beyond petty savings interest less then GBP 100 accrued in the UK bank account). However, I have recently encashed my Employees' Provident Fund (EPF) in India (less than GBP 50,000) to help me with some urgent expenses in India and I have not yet remitted these funds to the UK. Now I have a few questions: 1. I believe I automatically qualify for remittance basis. Also, based on HMRC guidance tool, I need not file self assessment return this year because not self employed, no UK income, and no overseas income above GBP 50,000. Is this correct? 2. (a) If I send myself some of the savings / funds from the encashed EPF in India or book accommodation for myself in the UK from these funds in India, would such funds be considered to be remitted foreign income and attract tax in the UK? (b) If yes, would such remittance disqualify me from automatic remittance basis? Or is there a limit to how much I can send myself? (c) Would I then need to file returns? I need these sums to sustain myself in the UK while I begin a job since I will not get paid this tax year. 3. Is there tax chargeable and return to be filed for any cash transfer made to my UK bank account from overseas family / friends to help me with living costs? 3. Do people who subsequently are on PAYE need to file a self assessment return for the period they were unemployed? Thank you
Posted Wed, 28 Feb 2024 12:19:05 GMT by HMRC Admin 10
Hi