Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Sun, 22 Oct 2023 07:24:04 GMT by
I have moved to UK from India in July 2016. I am employed with NHS in UK and my only UK income is from NHS. I have not filed self assessment tax returns in any of the years till FY 2021-22. I have interest income and rental income from properties in India. As it was below 2000 pounds in each of the year, I had not filed self assessment tax returns in any of the years since I moved to UK. I was advised that till 6th year, you will be taxed on foreign income only if you bring it into UK. Also, that if it is below 2000 pounds, you do not have to declare it in UK tax returns. Was my understanding right? Now that, I am in my 7th year as a Non domiciled Resident, I will have to elect arising basis in my self assessment tax return and declare my foreign income in total and pay tax on it subject to tax relief uner Double Tax Avoidance agreement. ( I understand, that if I want to elect to be taxed on remittance basis, I will have to pay 30000 pounds). My questions: 1) Should I have filed my self assessment tax returns in UK in any of the first 6 years if in one of the years my foreign income was 2010 pounds as against the exempted 2000 pounds. If so, how do I correct this? In calculating this 2000 pounds, should I take into account only those foreign income that are to be taxed in UK as per the Double tax avoidance agreement or the entire foreign income, for eg, Rental income in India which is as per DTAA, taxable only in India. 2) I have paid Indian tax on my rental income and interest. My Indian accountant says that the rental income of properties situated in India is taxed only in India. Do I still have to show this in my self assessment tax return? If show, how do I claim the credit of taxes that I paid in India if I file a self assessment tax return opting for Arising basis from FY 22-23 ( my 7th year of Non dom status). 3) Some of my friends