Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Tue, 24 Oct 2023 16:10:45 GMT by
I am an editor for an overseas website. I received an income in foreign currency which was equivalent to GBP800 for the last tax year. May I know if this needs to be reported in the self assessment.
Posted Fri, 27 Oct 2023 05:29:59 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi volley liu,
As this would be classed as self employment and covered by the trading allowance you do not need to declare this.
Please see guidance here:
Tax-free allowances on property and trading income
Thank you. 

Posted Wed, 22 Nov 2023 13:48:00 GMT by
The above casual income (GBP800) was earned in addition to my regular income earned in UK. As above, am I right that I only need to report my regular income earned in UK and do not need to declare my casual income (GBP800 earned overseas)?
Posted Fri, 24 Nov 2023 08:45:02 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi volley liu,
If it is classed as self employment, it will be covered by the trading allowance and therefore no need to report.
Thank you. 
Posted Wed, 27 Dec 2023 21:05:19 GMT by
Hello, I would like to clarify a related question. I received £350 from university for consultancy in training programs (not related to my main job) and I believe, £350 can be counted as a casual income and not taxable (as it is less than £1000 and I don’t have any other casual income). However, as university also took 20% tax with is £70, I would be interested how and where to insert these amounts in my annual tax return to get a refund of tax taken £70. Many thanks in advance for advice. Vlad
Posted Mon, 08 Jan 2024 15:50:02 GMT by HMRC Admin 5
Hi Volodymyr Anisimov

You would need to complete the self employment section of the online return.