Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Wed, 06 Dec 2023 11:09:04 GMT by standardhomework
Hi all, I was wondering if someone would be able to help me to clarify one or two things with regards to VAT. I'm a sole trader (freelance journalist) whose turnover recently exceeded £85,000 per year. However, the majority of my income comes from B2B sales to non-UK publications. My work for UK-based companies produces a turnover that is well below the threshold. However, I'm still unclear whether I'm required to register for VAT or not. My overall business turnover exceeds the £85,000. But my turnover from UK companies is just a fraction of this, around £30,000. Does anyone have any guidance on this?
Posted Fri, 08 Dec 2023 07:47:08 GMT by
I am an online marketplace and from what I have researched and what my accountant told me, you need to pay VAT in the country you are selling to if it goes above the threshold. So if you sold to a business in Germany and these sales were above 10,000 euros you need to register for VAT in Germany and pay there. Since Brexit, it hasn't been easy to get a clear answer and I am still not sure 100%. I would also talk with your accountant.
Posted Fri, 08 Dec 2023 13:43:57 GMT by