Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

• UK/Hong Kong Double Taxation Agreement - Interest Income

Dear HM Revenue & Customs, I am writing to seek clarification on my tax residency status, the applicability of the UK/Hong Kong Double Taxation Agreement, and the necessary actions to be taken with HMRC if I am eligible to claim treaty benefits. To provide some background, I am currently a resident of Hong Kong and have been residing in Hong Kong for more than 300 days in each of the two consecutive years of assessment, as required by Article 4 (Resident) of the UK/Hong Kong Double Taxation Agreement. As per the agreement, I am considered a tax resident of Hong Kong. However, I am planning to relocate to the United Kingdom in September 2024. Consequently, I will be spending a considerable amount of time in the UK during the relevant tax year. Based on my understanding, even if I stay in the UK for over 183 days, Article 4 of the treaty would still classify me as a tax resident of Hong Kong. In light of the above, I would like to inquire about the necessary steps to be taken with HMRC if I am eligible to claim treaty benefits and be solely liable for Hong Kong tax on my interest income earned from a Hong Kong bank, despite exceeding the 183-day threshold for UK tax residency. Therefore, I kindly request your guidance and confirmation on the following points: 1. Am I correct in understanding that, according to the UK/Hong Kong Double Taxation Agreement and my residency qualifications under Article 4, I would be considered a tax resident of Hong Kong for the relevant tax year (2024/2025)? 2. Considering my tax residency status, if I am eligible to claim treaty benefits and be solely liable for Hong Kong tax on my interest income, what specific steps should I take with HMRC to ensure compliance and proper application of the treaty provisions? 3. Are there any forms, documents, or specific procedures that I need to complete