Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

• 'Non-domiciled' Residents and Tax on Foreign Income

I was born in Hong Kong and have been living in the UK for 9 months (Jul 2023 to Mar 2024). I have never lived in the UK before. My questions are: (1) do I qualify as a 'non-domiciled' resident? does this 'non-domiciled' resident status automatically apply to me based on what I have said about myself above? or does it only apply to me after I have applied for it by some method? (2) If I am a non-domiciled resident and I have met the criteria that my overseas income is less than GBP 2,000 in the tax year and I do not bring it into the UK, do I still need to complete the self-assessment return for this overseas income?
  • Split Year Treatment

I have reviewed the rules and understand that I am qualified for the split year treatment. My questions are: (1) does the split year treatment apply automatically if I am qualified to this? or will the split year treatment only apply to me after I have applied for it through the self-assessment form or other methods? (2) when I fill in the self-assessment form, whether I need to report income for the whole tax year or only report the inform for the UK part of the year? Thank you.
  • RE: Do I need to submit self assessment?

Hi, I would like to confirm if we are talking about the same topic? I would like to check for the details for split year treatment listed below. https://www.gov.uk/hmrc-internal-manuals/residence-domicile-and-remittance-basis/rdrm12000 I would like to confirm if the split year treatment will apply automatically since I have checked, and I am qualified to this. or will the split year treatment only apply to me after I have applied for it through the self-assessment form or other methods? Thank you very much.
  • RE: Do I need to submit self assessment?