Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

• Hiring a contractor

I am a sole trader and have decided to hire my spouse as a contractor to help with my work, paying them a fixed monthly amount. Is there anything I would need to evidence when filling this as an expense in my self assessment? Given my spouse would declare this income on their self assessment return also and I have a signed contract agreed.
  • RE: Income paid in crypto - calculating GBP value

Hi, thanks so if I use the final sale value of the crypto in GBP after any exchange fees and if I sell the crypto the same day as it is received. I can't see any alternative way of calculating this as its price varies so much and there are no monthly official rates of exchange given like you provide for foreign currency. Please let me know if this is acceptable.

sorry but you still have not given an answer to what I'm asking. I'm trying to work out my income for income tax which I'm pain in crypto, how do calculate the value of it in GBP. Capital gains would be the value increasing after receiving but again how do you calculate the starting price when first received. I just need to know if I'm ok selling the crypto as soon as received and then using the final sale value in GBP for my income tax after allowed fees in the sale?

thanks for the last response however it does not answer my question and I have read the guidance that also does not cover what I'm asking; If a sole trader, contractor (not employee) is paid income for services by their client as income in crypto how do we calculate the GBP value of this transaction? Can I use the value when selling the crypto if I sell as soon as I receive the crypto allowing for any fees in the sale?