Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Thu, 02 Nov 2023 12:57:23 GMT by robert lea
Hi, if I am paid in crypto as an income how do I calculate the GBP value of the crypto since there is no provided conversion rates, note I may not dispose of the crypto token, can I estimate the value in GBP when first receiving? if I dispose of the crypto as soon as receiving it can I use this value after any fees in the exchange?
Posted Fri, 03 Nov 2023 10:10:05 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi robert lea-kime,
Have a look at the guidance on crypto assets at :
Check if you need to pay tax when you receive cryptoassets
And:
Cryptoassets
They tell you what records to keep and how to declare.
Thank you. 
Posted Fri, 03 Nov 2023 10:23:51 GMT by robert lea
thanks, I've already read this and it does not cover what I'm asking as I don't have an employer, I'm a sole trader contractor providing services for income paid in crypto. This guidance only covers if an employer pays you. "If they pay you in tokens, they’ll estimate the value of them, and pay Income Tax and National Insurance contributions based on the estimate" And does not state how to estimate the value of them? So can I use the value when receiving and then disposing of the token after fees and exchange?
Posted Fri, 03 Nov 2023 11:57:33 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi robert lea-kime
The portion of your income, given to your wife is still your taxable income, which you have to declare in your tax return.
You are taxable on all of your income, even if you give some to your wife.
Thank you. 
Posted Wed, 08 Nov 2023 15:30:28 GMT by HMRC Admin 20
Hi robert lea,
HMRC considers foreign currency to be an asset and any gain from the exchange of currency is chargeable to capital gains.  
If your total gain exceeds the annual exempt allowance, you have until 31 December after the end of the tax year to declare the gain using the realtime transaction service at
Report and pay your Capital Gains Tax.