Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Sat, 22 Jun 2024 13:58:12 GMT by Reina
Hi, I received a statutory letter with my UTR number for my LTD company. I’m a non resident and still didn’t start a business activity. If I understand correctly, it says that within 3 months of starting a business activity (meaning starting to receive income?), I need to go to HMRC website and apply for tax? Do I understand it right? Is there anything else I should do?
Posted Wed, 26 Jun 2024 10:15:40 GMT by HMRC Admin 20 Response
Hi,
Please see the information here 
Corporation Tax: trading and non-trading
It's from when it is active which is starting to receive income.
However, we will assume this is from the date you registered the company.
You will need to tell us if the active date is later than the incorporation date to allow us to note any period as dormant. 
You will need to register for a Government Gateway account to file your company tax returns. You can do that here: 
HMRC online services: sign in or set up an account
Please see under Organisation Accounts.
You'll need to add Corporation Tax to the services you want to use once registered. 
Please note the first Company tax return is due on or before twelve months following the end of the first accounting period.
You will need to check Companies House for their filing requirements which are completely different to HMRC's.
Thank you.
Posted Wed, 26 Jun 2024 13:52:09 GMT by Reina
Hi, I still didn’t start a business activity, I’m still working on my website, business bank account etc. So, if I understand right - I need to register an account here: https://www.gov.uk/log-in-register-hmrc-online-services/register ? Do I need to register now or later, when I start a business activity? Also, how will I tell you when I start a business activity? Where can I notify you about that?
Posted Thu, 27 Jun 2024 14:16:04 GMT by HMRC Admin 20 Response
Hi,