Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Wed, 03 Apr 2024 19:01:23 GMT by igys
I am receiving restricted stock units (RSUs) from my employer. Some of them have been granted in the UK but vested when I was a tax resident of Switzerland (which I was for about two years, I have since returned to the UK). As such, they have been subject to income tax in Switzerland on the apportionment basis. I haven't immediately sold the stock, instead I allowed it to grow a bit, before selling it later (while being UK resident). Let's call vest value V, UK-portion A, and sell price S. As per https://www.gov.uk/hmrc-internal-manuals/employment-related-securities/ersm163130, I am considering only the UK-taxed part (V*A) as the cost basis for calculation of capital gains (S - VA). My question relates to how to calculate the foreign tax credit relief. The guidance says to consider "lower of the foreign tax paid and UK tax liability". 1. When calculating the "foreign tax paid", should I calculate it using the marginal, or average tax rate? The total tax paid in Switzerland corresponds to the whole income, not only RSUs. 2. When calculating the UK tax liability, should I consider the whole gain to be taxed right now (S - VA), or only the portion corresponding to the foreign vest event (V - VA), as Switzerland only taxed based on the vest value and never considered later growth and sale at price S? Fwiw, I am not subject to temporary non-residence rules.
Posted Mon, 15 Apr 2024 09:36:09 GMT by HMRC Admin 32
Hi,

Q1. Re the Foreign Tax Credit Relief.  you should use whichever exchange rate is beneficial to you.  
Q2. Re the CG. When you left and returned to the UK can have a bearing on this.  
Please refer  to below for more information on their CG liability where residence is concerned.

CG25000C - Capital Gains manual: individuals: effects of residence, ordinary residence and domicile

Thank you.