Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Fri, 18 Nov 2022 13:13:34 GMT by
Hi I am using capital.com to trade CFDs such as sp500 and commodities, I have been using the trading app since September 2021, there are over 2500 transactions on the trading app. I have totalled up the profits and losses for the 2500 transactions since September 2021 and I have made a loss overall of £8,000. Do I need to report this? Also, another question, if I was to report it, would I need to detail all of the 2500 transactions from the trading app? What is trading cfd classed as, capital gains and losses? Thank you
Posted Mon, 21 Nov 2022 17:42:44 GMT by HMRC Admin 10
Hi
You will need to report it to allow you to claim the losses to set against future gains.
This must be done within 4 years of the tax year in which they arise.
Yes you will need to provide some sort of breakdown to confirm the losses and these are from capital gains.
Thankyou.
Regards.
Posted Fri, 13 Oct 2023 12:06:50 GMT by
Hi, I have similar problem, I have made CFD (contract for Difference) losses of £13000+ in year 2022-23 with CMC markets. They have provided the details of all the transactions which runs into more than 100 transactions in shares, both UK and US market. I file my self assessment tax return every year. I want to know, where to show these losses in my self assessment tax return. Which areas should I tick when i go to " tailor your return" and where to fill all the data. Thanks Tarun
Posted Tue, 17 Oct 2023 15:30:58 GMT by HMRC Admin 10
Hi
When tailoring your return, you should answer 'Yes' to the question about the disposal of chargeable assets/claiming a capital loss.
By doing so, you will be given access to the Capital Gains pages, where you should enter the appropriate figures under the sub-heading  ' Other property, assets and gains'.
You can enter your total Capital Losses for the year in Box 19 ('Losses in the year').