Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Mon, 18 Dec 2023 12:09:30 GMT by Gary
I am a sole trader and already submitted the 2022-2023 self assessment. Because my income for that tax year was low (under £6,725), I don't need to pay any NIC. What could I do if I would like to pay the voluntary class 2 NIC? Is there any form for me to fill in? Thanks.
Posted Sun, 07 Jan 2024 11:20:20 GMT by Guy W
I have the same question. Can anyone answer?
Posted Thu, 11 Jan 2024 16:56:44 GMT by HMRC Admin 20
Hi 
You can amend your self-assessment tax return to enable you to pay self-employed (Class 2) National Insurance contributions voluntarily.
You would tick the box to show that you wish to pay Voluntary Class 2 National Insurance contributions, which you would then pay via your self-assessment.
For the 2022-2023 tax year, you have up to 31/01/2024 to do this.
After this date, you can contact the National Insurance contributions helpline to obtain information on how to make the payment.
If you are unable to change your election to pay voluntarily, you should contact the Self-assessment helpline on 0800 200 3310.
I would recommend you to contact the Department for Work and Pensions before deciding to pay, to make sure paying for that year will benefit you.  
Their contact number is 0800 731 0175.
Thank you.

Posted Fri, 12 Jan 2024 11:49:24 GMT by Guy W