Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Thu, 30 Mar 2023 11:39:15 GMT by G
Hi I am a full-time student at a UK university from Hong Kong holding a BNO visa. I have a part-time casual job in the UK that I work for a few hours a week and earn less than £500 a month. On top of this, I receive income from dividends and selling of shares in Hong Kong. Now that a company in Hong Kong intends to hire me as a freelancer, I am confused about tax issues. Being a full-time student, am I correct that I DO NOT need to report or pay UK tax on my foreign income, as all these funds are used solely for covering my course fees and living costs, even though I am holding a BNO visa rather than a Student Route visa? Thank you.
Posted Thu, 06 Apr 2023 12:13:15 GMT by HMRC Admin 32
Hi,

Under Article 19 of the Double Taxation Agreement with Hong Kong, any income you receive is only tax free if your only reason for being in the UK is to study. As a BNO visa is not a student visa, your income will need to be declared.

Thank you.
Posted Thu, 06 Apr 2023 15:22:20 GMT by G
Hi Thank you for the reply. Does this mean the Article 19 of the Double Taxation Agreement with Hong Kong only applies to students only if s/he is holding a Student Route visa, and that the article does not apply to any full-time student holding another kind of visa? Thank you.
Posted Fri, 14 Apr 2023 13:06:52 GMT by HMRC Admin 20
Hi G,

That is correct.

Thank you.
Posted Wed, 24 May 2023 21:13:59 GMT by G