Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Sun, 24 Sep 2023 21:26:03 GMT by KF@2023
I came from HK and resided in UK for 1 year. This is my first year to report tax duty to HMRC. Pls kindly advise on the following: (1) I have a matured annuity plan issued by a HK banking institution which payouts monthly to my Hong Kong account. Can I apply for a tax exemption using PLA6 Form (for the capital in put in) ? If needed, which part of the form and section should I fill in my tax return form in the first place and claim a refund (if applicable). How would HMRC treat it , as income or as dividend? (2) I have a life insurance policy (life and critical illness insurance) issued by a HK company, and I am still making contributions each year. The cash value and interest income are reported in the annual report, but I never withdraw any income/interest. (Money is on roll -over basis with the insurance until I died). Do I need to report this “so called un-realized income”in my tax return? If applicable, where to fill in? (3) My husband also has an annuity plan and is still paying his premium. Like (2) he does not intend to withdraw any value, should he report any those unrealized earned interest? Look forward to hearing your replies. Thanks for your kind attention. Thanks for your kind help and guidance. Cheers
Posted Tue, 03 Oct 2023 10:19:27 GMT by HMRC Admin 19 Response
Hi,
  1. No, that form is for the actual pension company.    
  2. As the policy has not matured and is not providing any income there is nothing to report at this stage.    
  3. Same as number 2.

Thank you.
Posted Mon, 16 Oct 2023 13:32:22 GMT by KF@2023