Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Thu, 01 Apr 2021 23:42:59 GMT by
I am a tax paying UK resident, non citizen, domiciled. I have received cash gift worth £25,000 from my dad who lives in India. Do I have to declare this and do I get taxed for it?
Posted Wed, 07 Apr 2021 13:14:12 GMT by HMRC Admin 17

Hi,

There are no Income tax implications of a cash gift from overseas based on the situation you have outlined in your question.

Thank you.
Posted Sun, 10 Oct 2021 15:14:48 GMT by
I am a tax paying UK resident and non-citizen. If receiving the bank transfer gift money £2500 every tax year from my sister who lives and work in Singapore, do I have to declare this and need to pay tax, please?
Posted Mon, 11 Oct 2021 11:17:06 GMT by HMRC Admin 9
Hi, 

You won't have to pay Income Tax on cash gifts.

Thank you. 
Posted Fri, 29 Oct 2021 15:25:37 GMT by
I am a BN(O) visa holder and coming to uk soon. However, I borrowed around 30000 pounds to a friend which suppose to be my pension. My friend committed to return them back to me after ~5 years. May I know if they will be counted as my clean capital or will they be taxed? Thank you.
Posted Mon, 01 Nov 2021 14:24:26 GMT by HMRC Admin 17

Hi,

HMRC cannot give guidance on hypothetical transaction

s. The loan is not due to be returned for 5 years.

It is not clear whether the loan is a mixed fund.

Current guidance on identifying the remittance is at RDRM35240 - Residence, Domicile and Remittance Basis Manual - HMRC internal manual - GOV.UK (www.gov.uk)

Thank you.
Posted Wed, 03 Nov 2021 16:16:28 GMT by
Hi, I am a French person living in the UK, and tax payer in the UK. I will receive £30,000 from a friend based in Hong Kong and Hong Kong citizen, will I have to declare this and pay tax on it ? Many thanks
Posted Thu, 04 Nov 2021 10:58:25 GMT by HMRC Admin 20
Hi Annabelle,