Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Thu, 01 Dec 2022 20:14:20 GMT by
Hi, I'm a resident in the UK and have a PSA of 500 pounds per year depending on my income band. I'll probably go over my allowance in this tax year with the savings account (in a well-known UK bank) interests I'll get. Hi - I am in full-time employment and have never needed to complete a tax return for any reason. With interest rates increasing I may need to pay tax on interest from some of my savings for the first time. Am I right in thinking that my various banks will tell HMRC the amount of saving interest I've earned in the current tax year and HMRC will automatically update my tax code? ie I dont need to do anything? Is this correct? Thanks
Posted Fri, 02 Dec 2022 15:51:30 GMT by HMRC Admin 2
Hi,

Yes, the banks will notify HMRC of the annual interest received and your records will be updated based on this.

Any charges will be notified by way of a calculation and tax code change.

Thank you.
Posted Thu, 09 Mar 2023 11:12:16 GMT by cc King
If I am a full time mum and I know my saving interest will not exceed the allowance, do I need to submit the tax return form?
Posted Mon, 13 Mar 2023 11:59:00 GMT by HMRC Admin 19
Hi,

No, you do not need to submit a tax return.

Thank you.
Posted Sat, 25 Mar 2023 10:05:35 GMT by
Hello - I have savings accounts that will pay over the £1000 interest limit. When I spoke to HMRC a few months ago they said I should phone up when the interest is paid to update my records. I don't do a Self Assessment Tax return and am retired. Do I need to ring or as previous messages have said the banks will let HMRC know the interest I've been paid. Many thanks for your help.
Posted Sat, 25 Mar 2023 15:05:51 GMT by