Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Wed, 26 Jun 2024 09:12:13 GMT by Spencer
Hi, I am a UK citizen but a non-resident of UK for 20 years. My total income comes totally from the UK as a mixture of state and private pensions (total about 22000 pounds per year in 2003/2004) and bank interest (total about 5000 pounds for 2003/2004 - this is due to a high interest account and the prevailing high interest rates on bank accounts generally so I did not have anywhere near that much in previous years). The bank interest is not taxed at source - I receive it gross. No overseas income and no other UK income. The state pension part is, I assume, not taxed because I am an overseas resident but all the tax for my pensions is taken at source. I am registered for HMRC self assessment but I was told 10 years ago that I do not need to self assess any more and my account currently says I do not need to self assess for 2023/2024 also. I have answered the questions on the HMRC quiz about if I need to send in a self assessment and the answers led to a negative - I don't need to send one in (the only relevant question I can see about bank interest is the one about whether I receive more than 10000 pounds in investments, bank interest etc, which I don't). I recently phoned the HMRC helpline and they told me something about one criteria for the need to self assess is if I have more than 2500 pounds in untaxed income. I have not read that anywhere and is not in the self assessment quiz, but it may mean that I need to self assess for the 2003/2004 tax year due to my 5000 pounds bank interest. My question is this - do I need to self assess for the 2003/2004 tax year?
Posted Wed, 03 Jul 2024 05:54:58 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi Spencer,
Based on the information you have given you would not meet the criteria for Self Assessment.
The untaxed income over £2500 excludes untaxed savings.
You can check if you meet criteria here: