Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Sun, 03 Sep 2023 14:12:06 GMT by Jchun
Hi, I’m a UK resident. I have UK employ income £33,600 per tax year. On the other hand, I own a property in Hong Kong and have rental income £17,100. After deducing all property expenses, I paid £2,000 Hong Kong rental income tax already. My first question is that under Double Taxation Treaty, the £2,000 Hong Kong rental income tax I paid is counted in property expenses or should be deducted after my UK payable tax? My second question is that I need to pay £7,900 mortgage interest for my Hong Kong property. Is it a part of property expenses in UK? My third question is which form I should fill in? Thank you very much.
Posted Wed, 06 Sep 2023 11:34:51 GMT by HMRC Admin 20 Response
Hi Jchun,

The tax paid in Hong Kong is not a rental expense but you can claim foreing tax credit relief.
You can claim the mortgage interest as a relief.
This income should be declared on the SA106 foreign income page - Tax on foreign income

Thank you.

Posted Fri, 08 Sep 2023 23:20:46 GMT by
Dear Sir, I am a foreigner from commonwealth country who earns rental income from a small unit in Uk. It is shared with my partner. 1) Do I minus £1000 property allowance for each of us for this only unit from our gross rental? I just want to confirm this £1000 is personal allowance correct? 2) what is the actual threshold for tax? Any rental income below £12571.00, do I have to pay tax ? My rental income minus allowable expenses and divide by two ( my name & my partner) is usually less than £1000 per year. 3) I have been submitting self assessment via post, do I still need to keep doing this if my net rental income is less than £1000? Appreciate your advise, thanks
Posted Mon, 18 Sep 2023 13:01:51 GMT by HMRC Admin 32 Response
Hi,