Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

• RE: Completion of SA 109 (Residence, remittance basis etc)

Hi, Thank you for the previous reply. To further clarify, 1) May I know the ticking of Box 9 is for the purpose of determining whether Case 4 and/or Case 8 of split year treatment applies? Is it correct that the question regarding I had one or more overseas homes and I spent at least 30 days in any one of those times during the 2022 to 2023 tax year only related to the UK part of split year treatment? And that’s why since I did not have overseas home in the UK part, I do not need to tick Box 9? 2) It is my understanding that being a UK resident, I am entitled to the full personal allowance of £12,570 even though split year treatment applies. In view of this, I do not need to do anything to claim the personal allowance and hence I do not need to complete Box 18 and Box 19. Am I correct? In my case, completion of SA109 is solely for the purpose of split year treatment. No other allowances and treatments will be covered in the form. Thanks a lot for your kind assistance.
  • RE: Reward/rebate from bank

Thank you for the reply. Does it mean the cash rebates/rewards above mentioned are not caught as income under self assessment if they do not possess all the 4 characteristics set out in SAIM8020? Thank you.
  • Reward/rebate from bank