Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

• RE: Foreign Income more than 2000

hi hmrc admin - in above scenario, for a Non-domiciled' resident, do they also need to pay tax on full 5000 or only on 3000 as this is the amount over 2000? can you confirm please? also , if income was only 2000 then this is tax free in UK is that correct? if yes, do I need to put this into my SA online anywhere? thank you
  • Foreign Income for Non-domiciled' residents

hi hmrc admin, I have interest income of 2500 in a given tax year and I don't plan to bring this money back to UK. I am currently residing in uk for last 16 years and working full time and paying UK tax on all UK income. I am on 40% tax rate. I was born in India and my parents are born in India, I plan to retire and live back in India after my retirement, does this mean I am a non-domiciled resident? if I am a non-domiciled resident and have 2500 interest income in a tax year, does this mean that upto 2000 i don't pay any tax and I pay 40%tax on remainder 500? OR since my foreign income is more than 2000, I pay 40% tax on all 2500 income? can you help me with above questions please? thank you
  • RE: Form 17

Dear - Thank you for the clarification.

Hello dear / I just found my old notes from 2020 and when I spoke to land registry contact centre they confirmed that they don’t hold the percentage of underlying ownership for tenants in common and when we change percentage we don’t need to notify land registry. This means only notifying Hmrc would be required to spilt the rental income in new spilt. Can you confirm the same please ? Thank you