Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

• RE: Self assessment BNO self employed in Hong Kong

Hi HMRC, Thank you for the above. I would like to claim remittance basis and am not sure if I am filling in the SAR correctly. 1.do i just tick i am claiming remittance basis and need not fill in box 34 (i am not / have not remitted any monies) 2.do i need to fill in any other pages of the SAR for example the self employment page (self employed, provided consultancy services to company in HK, work done while i was in the UK, monies paid into bank account in HK) 3.are you able to confirm there should be no tax payable Thank you

Hi HMRC, Thank you for the above. On the residence section, as i was a UK resident the last 2 years only, do i just tick i am claiming remittance basis and i need not fill in box 34? Also, do i need to fill in any other pages of the SAR for example the self employment page? Lastly, are you able to confirm there should be no tax payable? Thank you

Hello. I am a non domiciled UK resident. I am self-employed and provided consultancy services to a company in Hong Kong during the tax year 2023/24. The work was done while I was in the UK. The monies that I received were credited into a bank account in Hong Kong and I have not / do not intend to remit it to the UK. I am eligible and would like to claim remittance basis. I have no other income. Can you please advise if i need to file a SAR for 2023/24?
  • RE: Remote consultancy paid in Euros = "foreign income"

Thank you for the above. Please could you advise whether my self employment work is UK income (as the work was performed here) or foreign income (as the services were provided to a HK company)?
  • RE: Remote consultancy paid in Euros = "foreign income"