Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Thu, 01 Jun 2023 16:29:15 GMT by
Hi admin, I am a UK resident, non-domicile, and will apply remittance basis for 2022/23. I have foreign capital gains, foreign dividend and foreign interests. I will not remit any of these to the UK. I don't have any income or gain in the UK. I will report the unremitted income and gain in SA109, and I understand that I don't need to submit SA106 and SA108 provided that I don't remit any those foreign income and capital gains to the UK. However, I want to ask where should I report the capital loss? For example, I have capital gain of 10,000 and capital loss of 8,000 in 2022/23. Should I fill in the net-off amount (i.e. 10,000-8,000 = 2,000 ) in box 35 of SA109 as the nominated gain, and provide the detailed information in box 40? Many thanks! Msirl
Posted Fri, 02 Jun 2023 09:15:55 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi msirl
To confirm "yes".
Complete the form SA109 as the losses needed to be used against the gain in the same year even, if it means you lose out on the full anual exempt amount for the year.
Thank you. 

Posted Fri, 02 Jun 2023 11:19:51 GMT by
Thanks you! If for the current tax year 2022/23, the capital loss is greater than the capital gain. For instance, capital gain is 10,000, and capital loss is 15,000, then the net loss is 5,000. Can this 5,000 be carried forward to next year? Many thanks! Msirl
Posted Tue, 06 Jun 2023 08:30:28 GMT by
Can anyone answer my question? Many thanks!!!
Posted Tue, 06 Jun 2023 11:09:11 GMT by HMRC Admin 8
Hi,
Yes it can.
Thank you.
Posted Fri, 09 Jun 2023 15:42:56 GMT by