Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Mon, 19 Jun 2023 13:15:49 GMT by gork14
Hi, I am a UK tax resident, under the pension age. I have a 401k pension plan in the US, which I would like to liquidate, i.e., withdraw in its entirety as a lump sum. In the US this will be subject to income tax (plus an early withdrawal penalty). According to the 'UK/USA Double Taxation Convention' (Article 17, Paragraph 2), this will NOT be subject to any UK tax. Is this correct? Do I still have to mention this on a UK tax return? If so, where? If all the above is correct, then there is still the 'Saving Clause', according to which HMRC could in principle ignore the above-mentioned article and impose income tax anyway. Is this being done in practice? Thank you
Posted Thu, 22 Jun 2023 14:49:57 GMT by HMRC Admin 32
Hi,

Roth Individual Retirement Accounts payments to a UK resident that are not taxable in the United States are not taxable in  the United Kingdom.  

Have a look at below, note 2 in relation to other pensions. 

DT19852 - Double Taxation Relief Manual: Guidance by country: United States of America

UK/US citizens resident in the UK are taxable on their IRA interest in the UK. IRA's are treated differently from Roth IRA's, in that they are taxable in the UK under foreign interest. The gross interest would be declared in the Self Assessment Tax Return, using the supplementary page SA106. The interest would be treated in the same way as UK interest and attract that starting rate of £5000.00.  

Have a look at:

Tax on savings interest

DT19852 implies that tax is not payable in the USA on this interest. 

Thank you.
Posted Thu, 22 Jun 2023 19:59:35 GMT by gork14