Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Wed, 04 Oct 2023 14:38:23 GMT by
Hi, I'm a UK Tax resident and domiciled in the UK. I tried to check if I need to send a tax return by checking through the below pages but I'm still unsure. https://www.gov.uk/self-assessment-tax-returns/who-must-send-a-tax-return https://www.gov.uk/check-if-you-need-tax-return For tax year 2022/23, I earned wages in UK. Not self-employed. Income Tax Band is Basic rate. I got less than £700 interest from foreign bank accounts. I made a gain less than £300 from selling foreign stocks. Basic rate Personal Savings Allowance (PSA): £1000 [https://www.gov.uk/apply-tax-free-interest-on-savings] CGT annual exempt amount (AEA): £6,150 [https://www.gov.uk/guidance/capital-gains-tax-rates-and-allowances] According to the captioned links, for my case, the foreign banking interest and capital gain should be less than the tax allowance for the tax year 2022/23. I think I don't need to pay UK tax for such foreign income. Do I need to submit the self-assessment tax return for the above-mentioned foreign income? Thanks.
Posted Tue, 10 Oct 2023 10:02:36 GMT by HMRC Admin 32
Hi,

As you are in  receipt of forign income from bank accounts and foreign stock, you meet the criteria for completing a Self Assessment Tax Return. When it comes to Self Assessment Tax Return, there is no minimum limit for overseas income / gains.

You can register for self assessment at:

Check how to register for Self Assessment

Thank you.
Posted Wed, 18 Oct 2023 10:56:47 GMT by