Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Thu, 09 Mar 2023 16:10:52 GMT by
As a UK resident, I have recently made some investments in "funds" with an investment platform/broker. As a new investor I have not had anything to do with CGT matters before but was wanting to know if I sell in the future and have a capital "gain" - are all costs and expenses in connection with buying/selling/holding the funds allowable against any gains made? I have read that dealing costs/expenses are (I don't have individual shares so don't pay stamp duty etc.) but does this also include a calculated proportion of the broker monthly flat fees (such as £10/month) or annual percentage fees (such as 0.45% per year on all holdings) as applicable per the broker account, for holding those funds. If so, how is it calculated - just by apportioning the percentage the "sold" funds make up of the total, for the amount of time they were held and calculating the percentage? Also if not, why would that be the case when these are just costs/expenses/fees/charges or whatever you want to call them of having the funds? Just wondered if someone could clarify for me please.
Posted Mon, 13 Mar 2023 15:03:12 GMT by HMRC Admin 32
Hi,

A Capital Gain would occur where the disposal value is greater than the purchase value, plus costs (buying and selling). Where the overall gain for the year exceeds the annual exempt allowance, the balance is subject to Capital Gains Tax at the lower (10%) or higher rate (20%) or a combination of both.  

Guidance on tax when you sell shares can be found at:

Tax when you sell shares

You can also find a calculator to work out your gain.

Tax when you sell shares: Work out your gain

Thank you.
Posted Wed, 22 Nov 2023 13:41:46 GMT by