Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Thu, 27 Oct 2022 21:04:32 GMT by mancplau
Hi, I am new to UK, entered UK at the last year. I never did self-assessment and never paying tax in the UK before. I also have no government gateway account because the system cannot verify my identity. At the 3-Oct, I called HMRC by dialing 0300 200 3310. I asked about the issue of self-assessment, and your staff told me that your department will send a letter to me within 3 weeks. He told me that there will be some forms and instructions with the letter. At a later time, I asked a tax advisor. The tax advisor told me that I don't need to file tax. For the letter sending to me, the tax advisor also said that I should inform HMRC about this matter. As 3 weeks passed, I have not yet receive any letter from your department, I called HMRC by dialing the same phone number yesterday. Although I have gave my National insurance number to your staff, your staff has no idea of what letter is being sent to me. I also don't know what is the letter about. So, as the tax advisor told me that I don't need to file tax, I would like to ask: 1 Should I simply call your department again and tell your staff about that I don't need to file tax? 2 As your staff don't know what letter is being sent to me, and I have not yet receive that, can I simply ignore the letter issue?
Posted Mon, 31 Oct 2022 15:35:54 GMT by HMRC Admin 17

Hi,

As you have not provided any information about your overall tax/income circumstances, it is not clear whether or not you have to register for Self Assessment.

To find out, please use the 'Self Assessment Criteria' tool: 

Check if you need to send a Self Assessment tax return   .

If the tool indicates that you do have to register for Self Assessment, and you are unable to do so online, you can register by post.