Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Fri, 22 Sep 2023 13:13:34 GMT by
Hi, I would appreciate your help, please. I am a sole trader, living in the UK (and I am a UK tax resident). I provide services to UK and non-UK customers and receive payment directly, both from UK and non-UK businesses. I will be filling in my tax return soon and I am unsure about how I should correctly declare my income. I am aware that my income from work for UK firms is 'counted' in my UK sole trader turnover for VAT registration purposes, whereas my income direct from non-UK businesses is not. How do I correctly register that a proportion of my income is non-UK? Should I do this in the SA100 form and, if so, please could you direct me to the location on the form to do that? Is it also necessary for me to complete a supplementary form for foreign income, for example SA106? The situation I am trying to avoid here is that my non-UK income becomes incorrectly 'counted' as UK income, which would take me closer to, or exceed, the £85,000 threshold point for UK sole trader VAT registration. Many thanks for your assistance.
Posted Mon, 02 Oct 2023 10:53:20 GMT by HMRC Admin 19
Hi,

If foreign tax has been deducted, you will show this on the foreign page and also as a self employment. If it is the same source as your UK income, you need to add this to your turnover. You can see guidance here:

Tax on foreign income

Thank you.
Posted Wed, 11 Oct 2023 21:05:10 GMT by